Uncategorized

Light up

There’s a lot to catch up on!  Where do I begin?  This weekend is probably a good place to start.

Saturday began lazily, with a breakfast of Trader Joe’s gingerbread (doctored up with pumpkin) that I had baked Friday night.  I didn’t mean to have gingerbread for breakfast, but I kept grabbing pieces and before I knew it, I had eaten way too much to consider having real breakfast.  Oh well.

After breakfasting, I read, finally finishing Scott Fitzgerald’s The Beautiful and Damned.  By then, it was past 1 pm and I wanted to get some sun before it disappeared.  (Why is it midnight dark by 4:30 in the afternoon??)

J and I headed first to Rockefeller Center to see the Christmas tree.  Except it was super crowded, so we quickly made our way out.

So. Many. Peoples!

Unsurprisingly, we headed to Union Square next.  Pretty sure that’s a mainstay of almost every weekend.

View of Midtown from Filene's

Union Square Holiday Market

Filene’s Basement, DSW, Whole Foods, Trader Joe’s…and then it was time for dinner.  We’d picked up a green curry sauce from Trader Joe’s, and J cooked it up with tofu, cod, mushrooms, and onions.  Broccoli on the side with a red curry sauce (also from TJ’s).  Nourishing.

Sunday began with more gingerbread, although I reserved room for some oat bran this time around.  We made it to church, albeit a bit late.  Afterwards, J and I wandered up Madison Ave, where I bought a peacoat from J Crew.  Then, we walked across Central Park and down to Columbus Circle, where I returned aforementioned peacoat.  I’m undecisive.

On the way back, we stopped at Sullivan Street Bakery.  Bread – a pane de commune – for lunch!  Not just bread, of course.  But it was the star.  Great crust, great crumb, great flavor.

Ain't that beautiful?

Leave a Reply

