Uncategorized

And I’m back!

I can’t believe it’s been nearly a month since the last post.  What occurred during the unintentional hiatus?  Yale-Princeton, Yale-Harvard, and then Thanksgiving!  Two fun weekends followed by a nice, long-ish break at home (although breaks are always too short).  And now New Haven is freezing.  Literally.  Time to break out the earmuffs.  I’m currently warming myself with some miso soup with shitake mushrooms and random Asian greens that J bought over the weekend but made me take because he wasn’t about to pack veggies and take them to Dallas.  Oh well – I never say no to veggies!

This past weekend was an NYC weekend.  Saturday, J and I began the morning with a little P90x yoga.  I learned that (1) I have no balance, and (2) I really have no balance.  I was wobbling all over the place.  No pictures of that, thank goodness.  Later, we went for a little shopping – or, at least, attempted to.  All I bought was a pair of black tights from Rack.  Around 4pm, I got super hangry.  Although I feel like there’s something inherently wrong with eating dinner at 4 in the afternoon, I could not deny my grumbling tummy.  So, we headed to Je’Bon, a sushi and noodle restaurant.

We started off with tom yum soup, smiley buns, and six pieces of salmon sashmi.

 

Can you tell how hungry I was? Only one piece left before I remembered to take a picture!

The salmon was fresh, and therefore good.  I do admit that pretty much anything would have tasted good to me at that point, so my opinion may be a little skewed.  The tom yum soup had plenty of shrimp – too bad it was a bit spicy for my taste.  J really liked it though.  The smiley buns were essentially steamed buns filled with sliced pork, cucumber and leek, and served with a sauce that reminded me of the sauce that comes with Peking duck.

Next up, we had the restaurant’s namesake noodle dish.  Guess what the “noodles” were made of?  Fish!  That’s right, the noodles tasted like fish balls – except in noodle form.  Quite yummy.  The bowl was chock full of seafood too – shrimps, scallops, imitation crab, and mussels, as well as broccoli, thin carrot and bamboo slices, and tiny chicken shrimps.

We also had two rolls – an eel cucumber roll, which tasted like your average eel roll, and the house roll, which had tuna, salmon, yellowtail, and avocado, with masago and tobiko (two types of fish roll).  I really liked the house roll, though I’m not sure I could distinguish between the three different types of fish in there.  The roe added a crunchy element, which provided a welcome contrast to the silky texture of the fish.

After Je’Bon, we wandered down to Whole Foods on Bowery, where I picked up a box of chamomile tea from Allegro.  I’ve been on a huge tea kick lately.

Apparently, the second ingredient is hawthorne.  Unfortunately, I don’t quite taste any hawthorne-ness.  Fortunately, it’s still quite enjoyable.  Nice and fragrant, but not overbearing.

 

Anyway, as we exited Whole Foods, we saw a man selling Christmas trees on the sidewalk.  I saw this tiny guy and pointed it out to J:

I realized my mistake as soon as I made the comment.  Because guess who ended up buying it?  Err, I guess the guy technically asked for a “donation.”

The night ended with a movie – Charlie Wilson’s War.

Sunday began with some lazy breakfasting and a trip to the gym.  I spent the greater part of the afternoon wandering around Soho and then met up with a friend.  For dinner, J made pizza!  Well, he started the pizza dough on Saturday night, and then we “rolled” it out on Sunday and added some toppings.  He did, anyway.  I kept mine in a semi-ball form because I wanted it extra-chewy (read: as bread).

J’s pizza and my bread were yummy.  The crust was very crispy – and had the requisite burnt bits.

Thanks to J, I also had a box of chocolates from Bespoke Chocolates to enjoy.  I had bought a Groupon for the chocolate store awhile ago and it was set to expire on December 3rd.  J kindly braved the cold on Thursday evening to pick up my box of 9 chocolates for me.

 

Beautiful packaging

 

 

Pretzel-Covered Sea-Salted Caramel

White Chocolate Toasted Almond Truffle, Dark Chocolate Truffle, Gingerbread Truffle

Lavender Honey Fleur de Sel Caramel, Hazelnut Praline, Venezuelan Dark Chocolate Cognac

I actually exercised some self-restraint, and only dug into four of the nine pieces.  The pretzel-coated sea salt caramel was the first that I tried – the caramel oozed out of the truffle as soon as I took a bite.  It was delicious, but not life-changingly so.  To be certain, I enjoyed the truffles that I tried, but nothing particularly stood out about them.  The hazelnut praline was like a richer, smoother version of Nutella, the dark chocolate cognac tasted like an average dark chocolate truffle with a hint of booziness, and the gingerbread wasn’t especially gingerbread-y, unfortunately.  I broke off a piece of my Lindt Desserts Crême Brulée on Sunday night, and actually enjoyed the Lindt more!

 

One thought on “And I’m back!

  1. YUMMMM! this is not helping with me trying not to think of food and to focus on studying…lol although i guess if i’m here commenting, i wasn’t really studying to begin with ;P

Leave a Reply

