Uncategorized

Sleeeeeping in.

Slept in until 10:30 this morning, getting more than double the sleep in the past two nights in the process.

Unfortunately, spring decided to sleep in too, as it most definitely did not make an appearance today.

Found this little baby on my doorstep yesterday (early birthday present…thanks E!):

I couldn’t wait to try it out.  I’ve read good reviews, so I was excited to see how espresso made with a little manual gadget would compare to the amazing cups that I’ve had the chance to try.  And turns out – the Aeropress makes really good espresso.  The instructions were very easy to follow…I was originally going to make a cup of coffee, but decided instead to just do a 1:1 ratio of milk and espresso.  Lovely drink – no bitterness, and the coffee tasted great.  Not quite on the same level as one of those perfect shots from Abraco or Cafe Grumpy, but they use machines that cost as much as a car.  Thus, I think this compares fairly well. *grin* And definitely better tasting than most of the espresso-based drinks from Starbucks.

The rest of the day was spent lazily – a little reading, a little gym time.  Mostly recovering from the long work days of the past week.

After dinner, a craving for baking hit, so we searched online.  And we came upon this nifty little recipe: Pumpkin Cake in a Mug.

Pumpkin?  Microwave?  Cake?  I’m so there.

Not the prettiest result, but it sure was tasty.  Quick too.  Fresh and hot out of the microwave, drizzled with some peanut butter and maple syrup – not many other things can come together so quickly and taste as good.  J says texture was mochi-like, and I agree.

And lastly, check out the colors on this pear (pretty much why I bought it in the first place).  Yeah, I buy food because it’s pretty.  Surprisingly, it was extremely good.  Only complaint is it’s size – it’s teeny.  I suppose, though, the teenyness only adds to the cute factor.

Leave a Reply

